• Somerset Heritage Centre
Reference number
  • A/ACY
  • 1877 saw the Wellington Athletic Club founded to raise funds to improve the Cricket Club's field. In 1883 the organisation became the Wellington Athletic Union, eventually embracing the following clubs: Cricket (founded 1855), Rugby Union Football (1874), Athletics (1877), Cycling (1881), Lawn Tennis (by 1878), Association Football (1892), and Bowls (1889) which soon replaced Quoits and Skittles. The Union disbanded in 1937, surviving on paper in what became the Wellington Lawn Tennis Club.
  • 1876-1895
Access status
  • Open
  • Collection
Related material
  • See also A\AFC/3, 4